Easy roasted eggplant spread

I love being invited out to a friend’s house for dinner. “Bring an appetizer” is often the response that I get when asking what to bring.  As so the quandary stars, what should I make.  Sure I could run down to the supermarket and buy a bag of tortilla chips and packaged hummus and I am done (as my wife suggested), but that would be too easy.  And it certainly would not help me with my reputation as a foodie.

So here is a super easy appetizer to make.  And it is quite healthy.  But I want to thank my buddy Kelly who so generously shared this recipe with me.

Step 1: You will need a quick stop at the supermarket to pick up a red onion, red pepper and eggplant.  Cut them up coarsely. Generously apply salt, pepper and olive oil (about 2 – 4 tablespoons depending on the size of the vegetables). Lay them out on rimmed pan.

Raw vegetables are spread out on a roasting pan
Raw vegetables are spread out on a roasting pan

Step 2: Roast the vegetable at 400 degrees for 40 minutes – rotating them halfway through the time. Once they are caramelized and soft, remove from the oven and allow them to cool.

Cooked eggplant, red pepper and onion
The vegetables should be well roasted when removing from the oven

Step 3: Into a blender, add the vegetables, a tablespoon of high quality balsamic vinegar (I used a thick and delicious fig balsamic this weekend) and a ¼ teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes (optional).

pulse vegetables
Place all the items into a food processor for blending

Step 4: Pulse until they are chunky and to your desired consistency.  Serve cold.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

