Roasted Brussels Sprouts on the stalk

So I think I grew up detesting these little green things, mostly because we were served them boiled or steamed, and they lacked any taste, flavor or redeeming quality.  But if you have been reading my posts, you know that I often order them while dining out to see what amazing things some very talented chefs have done with them (e.g. Tin Roof Bistro – Manhattan Beach – https://myfoodfixation.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=144&action=edit).

So how happy am I when my friend Jamie D. wants my recipe for roasting them at home – on the stalk.  Besides making an incredible presentation display on the table once they are cooked, roasting an entire brussels sprouts stalk is easy and quite fun for your guests to just pick off the ones they want.  I stopped by our local Sprouts today, and they had a great selection of stalks (but hurry, as we don’t see them in California all year round).

2013-12-27 15.20.54

It’s as easy as this:

– wash the stalk
– coat the brussels sprouts with a 1/4 cup of olive oil
– add salt and pepper
– put on a lined pan and into a 375 degree oven
– cook for approx. 45 minutes
– turn 2/3 times during the cooking cycle

I normally serve it with a bowl of balsamic vinegar to dip, but kudos to Jamie who took my recipe up a notch by drizzling a thick balsamic vinegar, and shaved cheese before serving.

2013-12-24 18.38.17

Leave a Reply

